Pathways into Teaching for First Nations students


Dr Tracy Woodroffe
Dr Tracy Woodroffe

Dr Tracy Woodroffe is a local Warumungu Luritja educator with extensive teaching experience and an Early Career Researcher with a growing track record. Dr Woodroffe is the lead researcher for this two-year project. Her research experience and focus is educational pedagogy, identity, Indigenous perspectives, and the use of Indigenous Knowledges in educational contexts. Dr Woodroffe has been both a team member and the lead CI on numerous successful research projects which can be seen on her CDU profile. Past research has included research with and within the NT Department of Education.

T: 08 8946 6624 E:

Researcher Linda Ford
Associate Professor Linda Ford

Professor Ford in Northern Institute/CIFEA has a strong research track record and extensive research portfolio in Indigenous Research. She will also be the Principal Investigator for a different HEPPP Outreach Project. Dr Ford’s extensive research experience will be invaluable in networking for participant recruitment, data analysis, written reports, literature review, publications, and presentations.

T: 08 8946 7203  E:

Dr Johanna Funk

Dr Funk’s research interests are in the developmental evaluation of educational programs and student experience. Having started work on the CDU and Department of Education Project ‘PreVET in 2012, completed her PhD in Open Educational Practices with Indigenous Workforce development in 2020, an open University Fellowship in Cultural Competence and Workforce Competence in 2021, and a Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SOTL) Project in Education Units in 2022.

T: 08 8946 6819 E:


CDU Higher Education Participation and Partnerships Program (HEPP)

The projects are funded through the CDU Higher Education Participation and Partnerships Program (HEPPP) - Applied research stream.

Northern Institute HEPPP Advisory Group (NIHAG):

Collectively, these individuals have an immense wealth of research experience and an in-depth understanding of conducting research in the Indigenous space. All of the advisory group members are staff in Northern Institute – Contemporary Indigenous Knowledge and Governance team (CIFEA). Professor Ruth Wallace, Dean of the College of Indigenous Futures, Education and the Arts (CIFEA) and Professor Reuben Bolt, DVC First Nations Leadership support the development and work of the NI HEPPP advisory group (NIHAG).

Researcher Michaela Spencer
Dr Michaela Spencer
Researcher Linda Ford
Associate Professor Linda Ford
Associate Professor Anne Lowell
Researcher Michael Christie
Professor Michael Christie
Dean/Director Ruth Wallace
Professor Ruth Wallace
Reuben Bolt
Professor Reuben Bolt
Scroll to Top